Step 2: Identify Your Industry Codes

NAICS: North American Industry Classification System

In the federal government, one primary classification, or coding system, is the North American Industry Classification Systems (NAICS). This six-digit system is used for classifying industries. NAICS codes are also used to provide small and large business size standard determinations for specific industries. A NAICS code search can be conducted at:

FSC/PSC: Federal Supply Codes & Product Service Codes

Federal Supply Codes (FSC) or Product Service Codes (PSC) are another coding, or classification system the Federal government uses to identify services and products. These codes are two-digit numeric codes for supplies, or a single alphabetic identifier for services and are used primarily as a classification system for publishing procurement opportunities through electronic procurement gateways. FSC/PSC codes can be accessed at:

State of Alaska

The State of Alaska maintains their own unique classification system to identify
Location Codes, Service Codes, and Supply Codes. To find out more about the coding, visit the state of Alaska procurement site at:

Municipality of Anchorage

The Municipality of Anchorage also has unique commodities and services and professional services code listings. You will find those at: